Principe Valiente (Second Edition)
by Principe Valiente
€7.90 - €13.90*

  • Principe Valiente (Second Edition)

Principe Valiente (Second Edition)
by Principe Valiente
€7.90 - €13.90*

*price includes VAT if applicable.

On 25th of May 2018 we will reissue Principe Valiente’s debut album that has defined the band’s own interpretation of Post Punk and Shoegaze to this day. The new edition comes in a special 6-panel-digipack with all original recordings and is available for order on the band’s Bandcamp page as well as on all major online stores such as Amazon, Discogs etc.

Principe Valiente’s debut album finds the band fulfilling the promises of their achievements to date. The Stockholm based band has in a short time gained a reputation for their live shows and are the subject of an increasing interest in their material in clubs and social networks on the internet. Their sound may partly be the result of a variety of elements inspired by the minimalism of certain post punk acts and the lushness of shoegaze, but is primarily characterized by an ambition to break new sonic ground.

This combination of innovative and inspired material makes for an invigorating listen as it is difficult to pinpoint in regard to genre. As a result, their music has frequently been labelled “dark pop”, a description that sums up the sonic qualities reminiscent of bands as diverse as The Sisters of Mercy, The Sound, Interpol and Suede.

The music video for the newly released “The Night” has been rotating on german television (topped the Pop10 video chart week 47 & 49) and the band’s eponymous 2007 EP has been played on the radio and by DJs around Europe. The EP has also received good reviews on the other side of the pond. As the album has been greatly anticipated, the material has been meticulously scrutinized for the full length effort, work that has resulted in a conceptually and sonically consistent album throughout. Songs like “One More Time” and “New Life” are hypnotic, energetic and powerful and even though the songs work very well in their own right the record is structured enough to create a rewarding album context for the songs as well.

/Mikael Saltzman

Release date: 25/05/2018

Track Listing

  1. Intro
  2. Before You Knew Me
  3. One More Time
  4. In My Arms
  5. New Life
  6. Solitary Man
  7. Stay
  8. Afraid
  9. 150 Years
  10. The Night
  11. Dance Like There's No Tomorrow

More in CD View All